7 Noahide laws

Many people are unaware that Judaism is a religion of two covenants, one for Jews and another for Non-Jews. According to Jewish tradition, the Torah of Moses contains a covenant binding on the Jewish people consisting of 613 commandments, and another known as the ‘Covenant of Noah’ consisting of 7 commandments which is binding on all the peoples of the world who are not Jewish. 

People who observe the biblical Covenant of Noah are considered by orthodox Rabbis to be ‘Righteous Gentiles’ and are known as Noachides or Bnai Noach in Hebrew, both these terms mean ‘descendants of Noah.’ Visit https://www.noachide.org.uk/html/7_commandments.html for more information.


The 7 laws of Noah


(a) Prohibition against idolatry (the deification or worship of any object, creature, human being, or power other than the Lord.

(b) Commandment to believe and trust in the Lord alone, who is the creator and sustainer of the world.


(a) Prohibition against blasphemy

(b) Commandment to respect and praise the Lord


(a) Prohibition against murder

(b) Commandment to respect the sanctity of human life


(a) Prohibition against sexual immorality

(b) Commandment to respect family values


(a) Prohibition against theft (includes rape and abduction)

(b) Commandment to respect the rights and property of others


(a) Prohibition against animal cruelty

(b) Commandment to respect all creatures and avoid cruelty


(a) Prohibition against injustice

(b) Commandment to establish a just legal system, and pursue justice

According to the Rambam (Maimonides) in his Hilchos Melachim, the order the commandments were given in is as follows: 

'Six precepts were commanded to Adam: prohibitions against the worship of false gods; cursing G-d; murder; incest and adultery; theft; laws and courts of justice. To Noah, G-d added the prohibition against eating flesh from a living animal, as [Genesis 9:4] states: "Nevertheless, you may not eat flesh with its life, which is its blood." Thus, there are Seven Commandments.'

'These matters remained the same throughout the world until Abraham. When Abraham came, he was commanded regarding circumcision in addition to these. He also ordained the morning prayers. Isaac separated tithes and ordained an additional prayer service in the afternoon. Jacob was commanded the prohibition against eating the sciatic nerve. He also ordained the evening prayers. In Egypt, Amram was commanded regarding other commandments. Ultimately, Moses came and the Torah was completed by him.'